The Department of Management Studies of SRM Institute of Science and Technology, Vadapalani, organized First National Conference on Emerging Approaches in Business Management-Divergent Perspectives and Dimensions-NCEABM’19.  This conference acts as a forum for researchers to present their innovative ideas during the paper presentation session and gather new ideas from other researchers through panel discussion. The event was held on 9th August 2019.

The inaugural address was given by Mr.Gopal Mahadevan, WTD and CFO, Ashok Leyland Ltd. He inspired the students with his energetic and enthusiastic presence. He stated that organizations to be successful transformation over time is needed. He spoke about the power of digitization and consumer behavioral pattern for reaching customers efficiently. He also gave four survival/growth pointers which are 1. Having a basic understanding on the recent technology 2. Building up one’s Network 3. Keeping in touch with what’s happening in the world 4. To ensure that one works hard. In the end he quoted Jillian Michaels, “Transformation is not a future event, it is a present activity”.

The conference commenced with the welcome address by Dr.S.Kesavan, HoD, DoMS. Mr.J.Chandrakumar IAS(Retd), Director Admin, SRMIST, stressed on the modern emerging approaches and on how virtual features in business are growing. The special address was given by Dr.V.M.Ponniah, Dean, Faculty of Management, SRMIST. He emphasized on the great role the emerging youth must take part and the importance of competency. He concluded that everyone has equal opportunities but proper prioritization would set us apart. This was followed by the Dr. K. Duraivelu, Dean(E&T), SRMIST, Vadapalani, who quoted “Engineering and Management should go hand in Hand. There should be a Synergy between them”. He also enlightened the students on the latest trends in technology such as the optimum use of Artificial Intelligence systems and IoT.

Dr.C.Praseeda, Professor, DoMS, SRMIST presented the report on NCEABM’19. The event was successfully ended with the vote of thanks, by Dr. S.Gayathry, Professor, DoMS, SRMIST.