SRMIST won the Championship of Geo Genius in IIT Madras

SRMIST is the Champion of GEO GENIUS for the 2nd consecutive year, a national level technical event organised by IIT Madras and L&T Construction during 06/03/2020 to 08/03/2020 at IITM campus as a part of CEA FEST 2020. Teams were shortlisted based on their Team Description Paper (TDP) previously submitted. The TDP includes the proposal for the composition of materials and reinforcement details. The selected teams were assigned the task of build-up of the mechanized earth wall with inclined backfill using granular by-products and domestic solid waste materials.

More than 20 teams from all over India competed, among the contestants, the team SRM GREEN STABILIZERS bagged the first place for their innovative approach towards the problem statement. The winning team constructed the mechanized earth wall using an optimum composition of recycled materials such as GGBS, Fly Ash and M-Sand based on the literature review and pilot experimental studies carried out in Soil Mechanics Laboratory. The inclined surface of the earth wall was stabilized by wrapping the batter face with newspaper reinforcement and achieved a 49 Degree stable slope, which was found to be the steepest among all other competing models. This approach facilitated the team to reduce the ‘right of way’ effectively and minimize the fill requirements. This also enabled the model to perform well in stability check by Rebound Hammer test. Further, the model was also stable in erosion test.  

Juries of the event, Professors Dr. Ramesh Kannan and Dr. Tarun Naskar, IIT Madras, had appreciated the team regarding our solution for the problem given. The cash award and certificates for the winners were presented by Dr. Manu Santhanam, Professor and Head, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras along with other delegates of IIT.   

Further, Dr.C.Muthamizhchelvan, Director (Engg. & Tech.), SRMIST, have congratulated the winning team. Head of Civil Engineering Department, Dr.K.S.Satyanarayanan, and other faculty members have also appreciated the winners for their efforts made to bring laurels to the Department and University.

The team members are Nehaun, Riza Bashir Shah and Surya Prakash from III year B.Tech Civil Engineering, and mentored by Chezhiyan S, Assistant Professor/Civil.