SRM team wins Chengalpattu District Volleyball Championship


The volleyball men and women’ team of SRM Institute of Science and Technology (SRMIST), Kattankulathur won the SRM Trophy for men and Jones Foundations Trophy for women respectively. The event was organized by Chengalpattu District Volleyball Association (Affiliated to Tamilnadu State Volleyball Association) was held at SRMIST.

About 51 teams, both men and women, participated in the three day event. Dr. R. Dhinakaran, IPS, Inspector General of Police inaugurated the championship. Present for the inauguration was Registrar of SRMIST Dr. S. Ponnusamy, Chairman of SNJ Group of Companies S. N. Jeymurugan, Life president of TNSVA R. Arjun Durai, Director (Sports) SRMIST Dr. K Vaithianathan, General Secretary TNSVA A. J. Martin Sudhakar.

Speaking at the inaugural Dr. R. Dhinakaran said, “Each player should give their best and achieve. It does not matter if you win or lose, but participation.”

At a nail biting finish SRM Spikers won over D.B.Jain to claim the SRM Trophy for men. In the women’ finals Dr. Paarivendhar bet SRMIST to win the Jones Foundations Trophy for women.

Mr. Sai Prakash Leo Muthu, Chairman of Sairam Institutions presented the trophy to the men’ team. Vice Chancellor of SRMIST Dr. C. Muthamizhchelvan presented the women’s team winner with their trophy.

In his speech, Dr. C. Muthamizhchelvan said, “More than the games, the comradeship between different teams is important. This can be seen in this game.”



Social Sharing