About the department

Welcome to Department of Physics, SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Ramapuram campus.

The Department of Physics, SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Ramapuram campus was established in the year of 2004. The department offers Physics and Materials Science for various disciplines of B.Tech degree courses. The course includes the areas of modern physics and nanotechnology, to generate Engineering professionals in science and technology.
The Department of Physics offers,

  • Basic physical science courses with a laboratory for all branches of B.Tech programme in I & II semester.
  • Open elective courses for higher semester B.Tech programme.
  • Ph.D. Programme.
  • Engineering Physics course with laboratory for B.Tech-lateral entry students.

Our Mission:

  • To facilitate the students to accomplish knowledge in Physics, Materials Science, Nanotechnology and related subjects as part of the curriculum.

Our Goals:

  • To augment the knowledge in Engineering Physics among students by reinforcing their fundamentals and employing it for engineering applications.
  • To expand investigational dexterity & ability of students towards practical knowledge in Physics.
  • To produce a consistently excellent result in every academic year and to assist below average students to understand the fundamental perception in Physics.

The state of the art physics laboratory has all the latest equipments such as

  • Dielectric constant measurement
  • X - Band Microwave bench
  • Four probe set up
  • Ultrasonic Interferometer
  • The crystal growth technique - SR method
  • Computational Physics - VASP code
  • Box  and tubular furnace upto 1400 ºC

Research & Development:
At present the energetic research is being carried out in the field of X-ray Crystallography, Crystallographic studies on drug molecules, Dielectric Studies, Crystal Growth, Spectroscopy, Computational Physics and Multiferroics by our faculty members.

Research Scholars

Name of the Supervisor Broad Area of Research
Dr. L. Sudha X – Ray Crystallography, Dielectrics, Nanotechnology
Dr. A. Senthil Crystal Growth
Dr. V. Jayalakshmi Band structure Calculations
Dr. V. Anbarasu Ceramic Compounds, Magnetic Materials
Dr. A. Nataraj Spectroscopy
Dr. S. Ranjith Bio-crystallography, Molecular Docking
Dr. K. Saravana Kumar Ceramics, Magnetic Materials, Thin Films
Dr. S. Supriya Electroceramics and Single crystal growth