FICCI honours SRM with University of the Year Award


SRM Institute of Science and Technology (SRMIST), Kattankulathur won the prestigious ‘University of the Year Award 2019’ (under the category of 11-30 years old Institutes). This award was received by Vice-Chancellor of SRMIST, Dr. Sandeep Sancheti from Honorable Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Nitin Gadkari at the 6th edition of FICCI Higher Education Excellence Awards 2019, held in New Delhi recently.

Universities and Institutions were awarded in seven categories and SRMIST competed under ‘University of the Year Award 2019’ since, being a multi-stream university, it has many dimensions of excellence. The process consists of submitting an exhaustive questionnaire highlighting how SRMIST stands out in many facets of university life. These include Governance, Curriculum & Pedagogy, Infrastructure, Faculty Development, Internationalization, Student Employability, Collaborative Initiatives, Research, Patents, Impact on Society, etc.

SRMIST highlighted 19 best practices covering the abovementioned areas which inter alia include Semester Abroad Program, Flexible Choice-based Curriculum, Specialized UG programs in the disciplines of Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Mechatronics Engineering and Biotechnology, Mandatory Industry Training Program, Faculty Industry Immersion Program, Liberal Student Scholarships, Accreditation, etc.

The report submitted by SRMIST was scrutinized and it was shortlisted to make a presentation at FICCI, Delhi on 22 October 2019 before an elite Jury consisting of eminent personalities from reputed Industries and Institutes chaired by Chairman AICTE himself Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe.

  • Made tremendous progress in research and placement moving up by 9 places under University category and 10 places under Engineering to end up with 32nd and 36th ranks respectively in NIRF2019.
  • Accredited with the highest A++ NAAC grade-2018
  • Ranked third in ARIIA-2019 among private Institutes
  • Accorded Category I and 12B status by UGC