EMF 2022 - Students Symposium

Start: 11-02-2022

Organized by Department of Mathematics, SRMIST

EMF 2022 - Students Symposium

Engineering Mathematics Festival (e-EMF 2022) was organized under the tutelage of Sri Ramanujan Mathematics Club in the Department of Mathematics, SRM Institute of Science and Technology for the third consecutive year. The student’s fest was held on 11th February 2022, Friday on the zoom platform. The gathering was welcomed by Dr. B. Vennila, Head of the Department of Mathematics and President of Sri Ramanujan Mathematics club, briefed about the club. The Vice-President of the club Dr. N. Parvathi introduced the Chief Guest for the Inaugural function Mr. Vishwananthan Venkat Subramanian Director, Wipro Technologies. He offered a variety of personal experiences as well as a fascinating perspective on the application spectrum of mathematics. The student anchor Varnika Singh then requested our Guest of honor Dr.M. Bagavandas, Professor and Head, Centre for Statistics, SRM Institute of Science and Technology, to felicitate the function and declare the meet open. The inaugural function moved on smoothly with sharing of thoughts.

The three events scheduled for the day began at 10:30 AM. Math quiz was the first event followed by Cross Word and then Sprint Math. All three events enthralled the students and witnessed active participation. The e-EMF brought together over 1125 student participation (Math Quiz - 469, Cross Word -323, Sprint Math - 330).

This was followed by the valedictory function. The gathering was welcomed by the Head of the Department Dr. B. Vennila. Dr. P Sampath, Assistant professor Department of Mathematics addressed the gathering and introduced the Chief Guest for the valedictory function - our alumnus, Mr. Vignesh Saminathan, Assistant Manager QC and R&D Arabian Petroleum Limited, Mumbai (Alumnus 2013 Batch - Mech, SRM University). The chief guest shared his experience in SRM and spoke about the applications of Mathematics and he announced the prize winners. It was followed by the vote of thanks by Aditi Dhapre, PRO of Sri Ramanujan Mathematics club, and concluded by the National Anthem.

Glimpse of e-EMF 2022