Awareness program for Research Scholars and Faculty Members on POSH (Prevention and prohibition of Sexual Harassment) in Work place

Start: 29-01-2022

School of Bioengineering, College of Engineering, Internal Committee(IC) and Internal Quality Assurance Cell(IQAC),SRMIST jointly organized an awareness program on Prevention and Prohibition of Sexual Harassment (POSH) for research scholars ( session-1) and faculty members ( session 2) on January 29, 2022 in Zoom virtual meeting platform. 

In the first session, Dr. M.Vairamani, Chairperson, School of Bioengineering delivered the welcome note and addressed the audience about his experience as IC panel member in dealing with sexual harassment cases in work environment. He also briefly introduced the Internal Complaints Committee, SRMIST and its presiding officer Prof. E. Poovammal, Department of Computer Science and Engineering. He further welcomed Ms. Raghavi Senthilkumar, Director/Founder, Headway Foundation and an external member of SRMIST-IC to elaborately deliver her thoughts and views on sexual harassment faced by men and women in work place.

Ms. Raghavi in her talk shared her experiences about managing sexual harassment cases and educated the audience on the laws that exist to prevent sexual harassments for women. She also emphasized that an internal committee for prevention of sexual harassment is to be well-established institutions and organizations. She has explained different forms and the various scenarios in which individuals encounter sexual harassment at workplace. She has also highlighted the ‘3P’s – Purpose, Philosophy and Priority for the prevention of sexual harassment’and spoke about the ‘POSH Mantra’ against sexual harassment. Ms. Raghavi also explained the gathering about the duties of the authorities, policies and punishments regarding sexual harassment cases. 

She concluded her talk by updating the listeners on the responsibilities of IC members, the undertakings in the inquiry process and compensations for the aggrieved individual.Dr. R. Preetha, Associate Professor, Department of Food Technology, SRMIST delivered the vote of thanks by acknowledging the organizing committee, the invited speaker and the gathered individuals for their active participation. 

In the second session Dr. Varshini Karthik, HOD, Bio-Medical engineering department offered the welcome note to the faculty members of School of Bio-engineering and participated actively in the entire session. Dr.S. Barathi, Dr.P.Muthamilselvi, Dr.S. Iyappan, Dr.RPreetha and Dr.D. Kathirvel coordinated the event on behalf of the School of Bioengineering. In total 129 Ph.D Scholars and 81 Faculty Members of the School of Bioengineering have participated and benefited through this program