The AICTE ATAL Faculty development program on Capacity Building of Women in Higher Education

Start: 25-01-2021
End: 29-01-2021


The AICTE ATAL Faculty development program on Capacity Building of Women in Higher Education was organized from 25 to 29 January 2021 by the Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) & Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) of SRM Institute of Science and Technology (SRMIST) with the focus of strategies to attain women in leadership positions. The FDP souvenir was released during the inaugural session with details of sessions, purpose of the workshop (FDP), policies & reports which focus on women empowerment and speakers’ profiles.

The topics had been balanced with holistic development on women academicians covering both general and gender-specific roles to be played on academic administration.

The expert members who uplifted the deliberations of the program include

  • Dr. Sandeep Sancheti, Vice-Chancellor, SRMIST
  • Dr. Vijayalakshmi Venkatesan, Scientist-G, Head, STEM Cell Research, NIN, 
  • Dr. N. Manimekalai, Director & Head, Dept of Women’s studies, Bharathidasan University: 
  • Dr. Haider Yasmeen, Founding Director, Centre for Leadership, BSA Crescent Institute of Technology
  • Mrs. Raghavi Senthil Kumar, Founder – Director, The Headway Foundation of Entrepreneurship
  • Prof. H. Srimathi, Assistant Director, Directorate of Online Education, SRMIST
  • Mrs. Kavitha G R, General Manager, Office of International Relations, IIT Madras
  • Mrs. Uma Meiappan, Director Commercials, Iyappan Engineering Industries
  • Dr. Kantha Deivi Arunachalam, Dean CENR, SRMIST
  • Ms. Chitra Shyam Sundar, VP Diversity & Inclusion, APAC, Barclays,
  • Mrs. Lakshmi R, Psychologist,  
  • Dr. Sheela Sasikumar, Director Clinical Research, SS Health Care & Head, Hycare Super Specialty Hospital
  • Dr. Seema Mehra Parihar, Associate Professor, Dept of Geology, Kirori Mal College, University of Delhi
  • Dr. Priyamvadha Mohansingh, Professor, Dept of Criminology, University of Madras
  • Dr. Bharathi Harishankar, Professor & Head Dept of Women Studies, Director IQAC, Chair Social Science

The resource persons have rich experience in their chosen field from different verticals including academic, administration, research and industry. Out of 15 resource persons, three of them were from SRMIST.

There were 166 participants from 23 different states, 82 different cities, 20 different designations including Administrative positions & coordinators of different roles with more than 60 specializations ranging from women studies, science, humanities, foreign languages, food science, nursing, management bio & natural sciences, pharmacy, fashion design etc., The workshop (FDP) was also attended by 7 male faculty members and they actively contributed during the sessions. Among the total participants, 25 were from SRM Group of Institutions including college of pharmacy, Dental and Campuses of Ramapuram (Chennai), Modinagar (Delhi) and Valliammai Engineering College (Chennai). 

The programme had lively interactions with the participants through case study discussions, questions & answers, chat conversations, raise hands on doubt clarification, sharing emotions, reactions using emojis & answers to live poling. The variety in interactions motivated the participants and enabled them to be active throughout. The resource persons also recorded their happiness about the enthusiasm showed by participants in the online program, which made the program commendable. The top 7 active participants who received special certificate of appreciation are:

  • Mrs. Krishna Soujanya S, Asst Prof. Dept. of Management, Aditya Global Business School, AP
  • Dr. KumKum Sinha, Asst Prof. Dept. of Management, Pioneer Institute of Professional Studies, MP
  • Dr. Raj Shree Verma, Asst. Prof, Dept. of Economics, Jharkhand
  • Mr. Shubhash Tewari, HOD, Dept. of Physics, Govt Polytechnic, Uttarakhand
  • Dr. Rachana Saxena, Professor, Dept. of Commerce, Uttar Pradesh
  • Dr. Nisha Chaudharay, Asst. Prof, Human Resource, Vira College of Engg, Uttar Pradesh
  • Mrs. Ragisetty Nirmaladevi, Associate Prof, Dept of Ece, KITS, Telangana

The evaluation of the workshop was done using both objective & subjective questions:

  • Objective questions  40 Marks
    • General Learning perceived  during FDP
    • Abstract of AISHE 2018-19 listed in Souvenir as Flipped learning
    • New Educational Policy
  • Subjective questions 10 Marks through two case studies

The Management of SRMIST including Prof Sandeep Sancheti, Vice Chancellor, Prof. N. Sethuraman, Registrar, Prof. K. Ramasamy, Director Faculty & Research, Prof. T.V. Gopal, Dean CET, and Prof. Augustine Maniraj Pandian, Dean IQAC encouraged both the organizing team and the participants to utilize the FDP for career development. 

The programme was well-organized by a five member team convened by Prof. E. Poovammal, Presiding Officer, ICC & Associate Director Campus Life. The members of organizing team include Prof. H. Srimathi, Asst. Director (Online Education), Dr. Ramya, Asst. Prof. (EFL), Dr. Thangarevathi, Asst. Prof (CSE) and Dr. Rajasree Asst. Prof. (CSE). 

The participants recorded their appreciation on the choice of topics, expertise of resource persons, online interactions & engagement, and professional conduct of program organization. The repeated comments recorded from participants through chat and feedback link is given.

As mentioned by the participants, the FDP focused on the demands of new education system, helped to identify the hidden treasures of decision making, empowerment of faculty and set the path to take up leadership position.