Ball Badminton-Individual and Team Achievements

1. M.Prabhakaran, II, MBA and A.Vivek, II, MBA represented Tamil Nadu in the Senior National and the subsequent Federation Cup ball badminton tournaments held at Bangalore during December 2012 and won the Federation cup after getting placed in the senior national.  Teams from many states and organizations (such as Railways) competed in the tournaments. N.Krishnakanth Reddy, II, MBA, C.H.Vengala Rao, II, BBA and N.Sambasiva Rao, II, MBA Played for Andhra Pradesh in the same tournaments. 

2. P.Vigneswaran, II, B.Tech IT, R.Kirubakaran, II, BBA and G.P.Vignesh, II, BBA represented Tamilnadu in the Junior (under 19) National tournament held in Dindugal and enabled the state to emerge as winners.  P.Vignewaran was awarded the prestigious “Star of India” title.

3. The university men’s team narrowly lost to Annamalai University in the finals of the All India Inter university Ball Badminton tournament held at NIT, Warangal during December 2012 and was the runners up.  However they had won two prestigious senior open tournaments organized by reputed associations at Coimbatore and Nagapattinam.

4. The women’s team performed well this year.  They won the following tournaments.

  •  All India interuniversity tournament, NIT, Warangal 12-16, December 2012
  • Buck’s Sports festival tournament YMCA, Chennai, October 2012
  •  Dr.Alva’s foundation trophy, Mangalore 23-25 November 2012
  •  All India senior Invitation tournament Trivandrum, 4-7, December 2012
  •  RSP memorial all India invitation tournament Tiruvuru, AP 13-15 January 2013
  • State level open tournament, RJS sports club, Mayiladuthurai 18-20, January 2013

5. S.Kanimozhi, II, M.Tech (CSE), A.Suganya, I, M.Tech (CSE), S.Subashini, I, M.Tech (CSE), J.Beula, IV, B.Tech ICE and B.Alshaya, II, B.Tech, IT were chosen to represent the Tamilnadu state women’s ball badminton team in the senior national championships held at Bangalore and the Federation Cup held in Hyderabad.  The Tamilnadu team won both the tournaments.   S.Kanimozhi was honored with the “Star of India” title and also was declared as the “Woman of the tournament”.  Two other players of B.V.Padmavathy, II, MBA and Y.Mounika, II, B.Tech IT represented Andhra Pradesh in the same tournaments with Y.Mounika also awarded the title “Star of India”.