Manage Slideshow

Newcomers Bag Best Innovation Award

Winners win races, Champions make it look easy”

80 teams from Engineering Colleges across India participated in a 3-day show of strength, intelligence and endurance in Efficycle 2013, an inter college event on design and fabrication of an environment friendly human cum electric power driven mobility solution, conducted by SAEINDIA (Society of Automotive Engineers INDIA) Northern Section at UIET, Punjab University. The level of the event was raised and participants were seen struggling to keep up with the stringent checks. The first day was marked by Technical inspections, Brake tests and Go-No-Go checks and teams clearing these checks were only allowed to participate in the dynamic events. This was followed by static events like Design and Cost evaluation, Marketing presentation and Innovation round.

Team Druta Racing comprising of Bandaru Sree Harsha (Captain), Abhishek Mishra, Yashank Bhavsar, Vishesh Keserwani, Manish Sahani, Ayushman Dehingia, Abul Hasan, Sai Srinivasa Kalyan & Faculty Advisor Mr. C.Rajesh, all from Mechanical Engineering, immediately caught the eye of the judges in the Innovation round with their out of the box design features like bell crank suspension, universal joint in adjustable and shiftable steering, drive shaft used in efficient power train and as a fulcrum for suspension, new design of Plummer block.

The second day saw teams battling it out in dynamic events like Acceleration test, Utility test and Gradient test. The team performed well in these tests. The third and final day of the event saw the much anticipated Endurance test, in which only 50 out of the 80 registered teams lined up at the grid due to technical breakdowns or disqualifications of the remaining. The team with the able driving and indomitable spirit of the drivers Abul Hasan (a.k.a. Mr. Stamina) & Abhishek Mishra performed well in the 120 minute long test. The 1.7 kilometre long track which comprised of mud, gradients and sharp turns tested the vehicle to its limit but the design of the vehicle was such that it was completely stable and had incurred no damage. The team felt really privileged when Mr. I. V. Rao (Chairman, SAEINDIA-Northern Section & Chief General Manager at Maruti Udyog Ltd.) came and listened to the team members explaining the innovations with keen interest.

As the award for the Best Innovation was announced the team was ecstatic and at the same time, proud that their months’ of hard work in designing and fabrication of the vehicle had paid off. Team Druta Racing, who began the event as a debutant, justified the tagline of Efficycle 2013 “Prove the potential” and registered themselves among the winners at a national stage.

Team Druta Racing thanks Dr. N Vasudevan (DEAN - E&T), Prof. C. K. Lakshmynarayanan (HOD, Mechanical Engineering), all the faculty members and the management of SRM Institute of Science and Technology (formerly known as SRM University), Vadapalani for their consistent support and guidance and finally the team members, whose never-ending endeavours made this project a huge success.