Manage Slideshow

M.Tech Student Wins 'Young Scientist Award'

Sneha.S, Second year M. Tech Food safety and Quality management student has won the “Young Scientist Award” in Technical paper contest in XXXIV Annual Conference of society of toxicology (India) 2014, Challenges and strategies in toxicology for animal feed and food safety &“Drug development - Regulatory perspectives in Livestock” (PLAFFS), held at Madras Veterinary College, Chennai, India from December 10 to 12, 2014.

The contest was open to undergraduate, graduate and research scholars in the field of Food safety, Food toxicology, Veterinary Science across India, provided students the opportunity to submit technical papers on topics such as Food Toxicology, Regulatory Toxicology, Nano-Toxicology, Reproductive Toxicity, In vitro toxicology and in five other concentration. It further provided an opportunity for students and scholars to interact with others in similar educational and professional fields.

The project “Quality assessment of Sago” has discussed the recent outbreak of adulteration in sago processing industries at Salem, which is known as Queen of sago production. Samples were collected form the respective affected area and performed with 9 preliminary examinations followed by High performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) analysis. The research concluded that usage of non-permissible bleaching agents is the reason for the poisoning and it also influences the pH of the product, which may cause serious gastrointestinal disorders in human.

Amidst the challenge in presenting her paper among many other toxicology research works, she was skilful enough to attract the audience towards this toxicology research work. Not only in explaining her project to the judges but she delivered the message for the need of food safety to the audience. As a post graduate student she always shows a dedicated interest in her project work and excels in each stage of study, which has helped her to present her work at the national level conference and bag the Young scientist award.