Honorary Degree Conferred


SRM University, in addition to providing academic excellence, also identifies the best talents across different fields and awards honorary degree to them based on their accomplishments. The University awards an honorary degree during the convocation ceremony. All our guests are truly impressed with the infrastructure and the state-of-the-art facilities.  

Dr. V.K. Saraswat

Dr. V.K. Saraswat, The Director General
Defence Research and Development Organisation, Government of India

Dr. V.K. Saraswat , the Director General , Defence Research and Development Organisation, Government of India is a distinguished Missile Scientist of the country and he has actively associated himself in development of various missile programs. Dr Saraswat graduated in Mechanical Engineering from Jiwaji University, Gwalior, Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and doctorate in Propulsion Engineering from Osmania University, Hyderabad. He has specialized in Missile Technologies, Rocket Propulsion and Technology Management.

Dr Saraswat started his career in DRDO at DRDL in July 1972, with development of India’s first Liquid Propulsion Engine, Devil. He established facilities for design, production & testing of engines and the RCS technologies for the missile applications. As Project Director, he steered the design, development, production and induction of first indigenous Surface–to–Surface missile system Prithvi-I of 150 km range and Prithvi-II of 250 km range, into Armed Forces. Naval variant of Prithvi - Dhanush350 km, ship-launched missile, with very high terminal accuracy has been successfully developed for strategic role. Prithvi Missile occupies a pride place in the inventories of all the three Armed Forces including Strategic Force Command.

Dr. Pawan Raj Goyal

Dr. Pawan Raj Goyal, An Eminent Physician, Chairman and M.D
PRG Medicares and Researches Limited

Graduated in 1974 from Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi and having done his Residency in medicine and surgery from Irwin Hospital, Delhi, Dr. Goyal is armed with impeccable qualifications and perspicacious diagnostic abilities. He served as a consultant in various hospitals. The recipient of UDYOG GAURAV award, Dr. Goyal is always willing to share his vast knowledge and rich experience not only with his peers but also with the young and aspiring doctors making their first steps in their profession.

Indian council of Management Executives honoured him with SAMAJ SHRI award in 1991. Dr. Goyal's proven expertise and curative skills, manifest while treating the patients afflicted with disorders related to pulmonology, have seen him being invited by leading medical colleges and hospitals alike, all over the country, either to be and emeritus professor or consultant physician.  

Dr. Subra Suresh

Dr. Subra Suresh, An IIT Alumnus
Director, National Science Foundation

Dr. Subra Suresh is the Director of National Science Foundation in Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Author of 210 research articles, Dr. Subra Suresh began his tenure as Dean of Engineering in Massachusetts Institute of Technology during the year 2007. A graduate from Chennai, IIT Madras, he has held different prestigious positions and he continues to be an inspiration to the younger generation. He was conferred a degree of Doctor of Science in appreciation to his outstanding achievements in the field of material science, biology, engineering education and for championing the cause of women and minorities and in recognition of his vision, dedication, devotion and contribution to the cause of science and society.  


Mr. N. Chandrasekaran, The Youngest CEO
CEO, Tata Consultancy Services

Mr. Natarajan Chandrasekaran is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Tata Consulting Services. Leading a renowned institution like TCS is no easy task. He was the youngest CEO in Tata group's history and with his untiring efforts he made the good into the best. Mr. Chandrasekaran, the driving force behind the success of the institution was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Literature in the year 2010 during the sixth convocation.  

Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao

Prof. C. N. R. Rao, The Scientific Advisor
Chairman, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India

Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao, the Chairman, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India and National Research Professor of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research was conferred the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science during the sixth convocation. Prof. C. N. R. Rao is a member of many scientific associations and his commendable contributions towards science have earned him the honorary Degree of Science.  


Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, The Scientist
Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation

Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, the Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) held different directorial positions so far and he directed many successful satellite launches. To help the unprivileged community in the villages, he promoted village resource centers with satellite connectivity in order to improve their quality of life. His initiatives are recognized nationwide and SRM University presented the honorary Degree of Doctor of Science during the fifth convocation.  

Madhavan Nair

Dr. G. Madhavan Nair
Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation

Dr. G. Madhavan Nair, Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation visited the campus in the year 2008. Shared the dais with rifle shooter and the first Olympic gold medal winner Shri Abhinav Bindra, Dr. G. Madhavan Nair, the Padma Vibhushan award winner was conferred the Degree of Doctor of Science during the fourth convocation.  

Shri Abinav Bindra

Shri Abinav Bindra, The Shooter
India's First Ever Individual Gold Medalist in Olympics

SRM University conferred the honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature during the fourth convocation to Shri Abinav Bindra, India's First Ever Individual Gold Medalist in Olympics. Abinav Bindra made the nation proud with his achievement and he was bestowed with honours including the title, Padma Bhushan. The varsity rightly recognises the importance of sports and the sports star was invited to the campus. The Shooting Star himself was delighted to be present amidst the young graduating crowd.  

Kumar Mangalam

Kumar Mangalam Birla, Business Tycoon
Chairman, Aditya Birla Group

Dr. Kumar Mangalam Birla, a renowned industrialist has won several accolades and SRM University respects the contribution of such industrialists. He was conferred the Degree of Doctor of Literature in the third convocation. Dr. Kumar Mangalam Birla, one of the successful business man in India, is leading the Aditya Birla Group with excellence. The Aditya Birla Group comprises a swath of industries and is headed by a dynamic leader, Kumar Mangalam Birla. Business magnets like him certainly help the financial status of the country. The varsity identified his contribution and awarded a honorary degree of Doctor of Literature.  


Dr. K. Kasturirangan, The Space Man
Director, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore

Dr. K. Kasturirangan, the Director of National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore was awarded the honorary Degree of Doctor of Science during the third convocation in the year 2008. Recipient of three civilian awards, Dr. K. Kasturirangan helped ISRO to reach several milestones during his tenure as a Chairman. Dr. K. Kasturirangan is a space scientist and he also served as member of the parliament.